Full length album due

Jack White is set to produce a full length album from primal rockabilly queen Wanda Jackson.

Often seen as a boys club, rock 'n' roll has produced some powerful female figures. Wanda Jackson recorded with Sun, dated Elvis Presley and recorded some of the filthiest material ever put down to tape.

Now in her 70s, most performers her age would consider settling down. However Wanda Jackson earlier this year with a fantastic one off single, produced by White Stripes guitarist Jack White.

A man who knows a thing or two about primitive rock 'n' roll himself, Jack White is set to produce a full length album from Wanda Jackson. The pair teamed up recently to put some ideas down on tape.

Jack White recruited some close friends to form a backing band, with the likes of the Raconteurs' Jack Lawrence and Patrick Keeler due to appear. Elsewhere, Patti Smith's son (and Meg White's husband) Jackson Smith is set to take part, with Jack White's wife Karen Elson also appearing.

The full length album is due to appear in January. Titled 'The Party Ain't Over' the tracklisting includes some potential gems, including a rendition of classic British rock 'n' roll hit 'Shakin' All Over'.

Elsewhere, Wanda Jackson will take on Amy Winehouse's 'You Know I'm No Good' which appeared as a single last year. The album also features renditions of 'Rip It Up' and 'Thunder On The Mountain'.

Finishing with Jimmy Rodger's 'Blue Yodel #6' the album is a tribute to the early years of rock 'n' roll without seeming like a retro exercise.

Meanwhile, Jack White is touring with The Dead Weather while also taking care of Third Man. The label recently unveiled plans to release an album featuring Conan O'Brien which includes a guest slot from The White Stripes guitarist.

Wanda Jackson is set to release 'The Party Ain't Over' on January 25th. Tracklisting:

1 Shakin All Over
2 Rip It Up
3 Busted
4 Rum and Coca-Cola
5 Thunder on the Mountain
6 You Know I'm No Good
7 Like a Baby
8 Nervous Breakdown
9 Dust on the Bible
10 Teach Me Tonight
11 Blue Yodel #6


Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.

Follow Clash: