Jaakko Eino Kalevi Announces New Album ‘Chaos Magic’

It's out on November 17th...

Jaakko Eino Kalevi will release new album ‘Chaos Magic’ on November 17th.

The Finnish voyager is now based in Berlin, a hub for his left-field ruminations. Synth pop put through the wrangler, his latest statement will land later this year.

Out on November 17th via Weird World, new album ‘Chaos Magic’ is led by vivacious new single ‘I Forget’. Drifting, almost psychedelic in tone, its lysergic qualities have a dream-like, almost Lynchian quality to them.

Guest vocals come from Sigurlaug Gísladóttir, with Jaakko commenting: “It is about blacking out and forgetting everything – who you are, where and why. It might sound serious but it’s fun when it’s connected to this beat.” 

Cinematographer Frank Tolbein steers the video, and it taps into the song’s reach towards the subconscious mind.

“The idea for the video is that the main character is always forgetting who he is, and ends up being different characters living different lives,” says Jaakko. “The idea comes from when I was playing in Egypt a couple of years ago. I passed out on a beach chair after the show. When I woke up, I had memories from some other place and I didn’t know where I was, and why. Then I called my sister and she told me, and it was alright again.” 

Tune in now.

Photo Credit: Frank Holbein 

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.