John Newman, Palma Violets, James Blake get the nod...
John Newman

The Ivor Novello Awards are aimed at showcasing excellence in songwriting, with the ceremony seeming to gain renewed prominence in the past few years.

Returning next month, the 59th Ivor Novello Awards are dominated by solo artists. John Newman, James Blake and Emili Sande gain high profile nods, while Sam Smith is represented via his Disclosure collaboration.

Elsewhere, Everything Everything gain an unexpected - but merited - nod in 'Best Contemporary Song' while the 'Album Award' finds Arctic Monkeys, Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds and Laura Mvula duking it out.

With further nominations for London Grammar, Palma Violets and more, it looks to be a close call.

The 59th Ivor Novello Awards takes place on May 22nd at Grosvenor House in London. Nominations:

Best Song Musically and Lyrically
Best of Friends (Palma Violets)​
Love Me Again​ (John Newman)
Strong​ (London Grammar)

Best Contemporary Song
Kemosabe (Everything Everything)
Latch​ (Disclosure ft Sam Smith)
Retrograde​ (James Blake)

PRS for Music Most Performed Work
Clown (Emeli Sandé)
Let Her Go (Passenger)
Troublemaker (Olly Murs ft Flo Rida)

Album Award
AM (Artic Monkeys)
Push the Sky Away (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds)
Sing to the Moon (Laura Mvula)

Best Original Film Score­­­
Captain Phillips
The Epic of Everest

Best Television Soundtrack
Mr Selfridge
Ripper Street
The Thirteenth Tale

Buy Clash Magazine

Get Clash on your mobile, for free: iPhone / Android


Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.