How To Dress Well Announces New Album ‘I Am Toward You’

Two new singles are online now...

How To Dress Well has announced plans for new album ‘I Am Toward You’.

Songwriter Tom Krell has signalled his return, rejuvenating the project that has acted as a framework for his ideas for passions for more than a decade now. Out on May 10th, ‘I Am Toward You’ has taken more than four years to bring to fruition, undergoing an evolutionary process along the way.

Kicked off at the beginning of 2020 – as the pandemic changed our lives – Tom Krell was joined by frequent collaborators and new voices, including CFCF, Chris Votek, Joel Ford, Josh Clancy, Trayer Tryon, Brian Allen Simon (Anenon), and Aaron Charles Read.

The full tracklisting has been unveiled, alongside two magnetic pieces of music. ‘New Confusion’ and ‘No Light’ boast contributions from CFCF and Trayer Tryon, as well as Anarthia DLT, both each have their own distinctive approach.

Of ‘New Confusion’ he writes…

“It’s about how to relate to the past knowing the hard limits on human memory and the challenges of metabolising intergenerational-anthropogenetic trauma. “At best regret, at worst forgetfulness,” I sing in the chorus – a tortured concept of memory, no doubt. But I also sing that there is a path to freedom from this bind.”

With How To Dress Well comparing ‘No Light’ to the work of David Lynch:

“‘No Light’ is a song about contemporary LA, a place simply teeming with unspeakable suffering. It is, like LA, paradoxically and fundamentally also a bop. It’s a song I wrote after an interaction I had during the pandemic, something like a scene from Mulholland Drive, a young woman crawling across the ground in the alley behind my house in a white dress screaming about a ‘pig mask.’”

1. New Confusion
2. Contingency/Necessity (Modality of Fate)
3. Crypt Sustain
4. No Light (feat. Anarthia DLT)
5. nothingprayer (feat. Aaron Read, Anenon, Noah Allaire)
6. On It and Around It
7. Song in the Middle
8. Gas Station Against Blackened Hillside
9. A Faint Glow Through a Window of Thin Bone (That’s How My Fate is Shown)
10. The Only True Joy on Earth
11. A Secret Within the Voice

Photo Credit: Y. Arslan

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.