Hercules & Love Affair Album Plans

'Blue Songs' due on January 31st

Hercules & Love Affair are set to release their second album ‘Blue Songs’ on January 31st.

Led by Andy Butler, Hercules & Love Affair lit up the music scene in the summer of 2008. The group mixed prime disco and New York house to produce something uniquely euphoric, with their debut album boasting appearances from Antony Hegarty and more.

Taking time off, Andy Butler has launched his new label Mr Intl. Allowing the producer to release tracks he doesn’t feel fits the band, the imprint has released two acclaimed 12 inches so far this year.

Alongside this, though, the producer has been working on new material with Hercules & Love Affair. The New York based outfit have re-grouped, recruiting guest stars for their forthcoming second album.

Due to be released on Moshi Moshi, the album was recorded in Denver and Vienna. Techno producer Patrick Pulsinger took control of the sessions, with Hercules & Love Affair focussing on new material.

Mainstay Kim Ann Foxman returns on vocals, with guests including Bloc Party singer Kele Okereke. Elsewhere Hercules & Love Affair are joined by Venezuelan singer Aerea Negrot, fan-turned-collaborator Shaun Wright and more.

For their second album Hercules & Love Affair broadened their musical palette, but the roots of house still run through their blood. “There’s definitely jacking house and there’s definitely even more full-blown disco, but there’s also more experimental, softer music” explains Andy Butler.

Recently returning to Europe for a series of tour dates, Hercules & Love Affair premiered their new material playing support slots for The Gossip.

Hercules & Love Affair are due to release ‘Blue Songs’ on January 31st. Tracklisting:

1. Painted Eyes
2. My House
3. Answers Come In Dreams
4. Leonora
5. Boy Blue
6. Blue Songs
7. Falling
8. I Can’t Wait
9. Step Up
10. Visitor
11. It’s Alright

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.