Hakushi Hasegawa Introduces New Album ‘Mahōgakkō’

It's out on July 24th...

Hakushi Hasegawa has outlined plans for their new album ‘Mahōgakkō’.

The multi-disciplinary artist signed to Brainfeeder last year, an imprint who have done so much to champion outsider voices. Difficult to classify, Hakushi Hasegawa’s work takes a leap into the unknown with their new album.

Out on July 24th, ‘Mahōgakkō’ features 12 tracks, a dozen aesthetic statements that revel in hyper-fluorescent tones of sharpened digitalism.

Recent single ‘Boy’s Texture’ was joyous, with light seeping out of its pores; new track ‘Departed’ abandons form, embracing a chaotic form of creative energy.

Inspired by this, digital animator Gauspel – real name Brandon Saunders – stepped in to craft a stunning video.

“This song is the most chaotic, least obvious, and most conflicted piece on the new album or in my work to date,” explains Hakushi. “I hope that this song will continue to hang in the air, exactly like the video that Gauspel created for me – for it to be a celebration of unclarity and giving up. I am pleased to be able to open the album with this song.”

Tune in now.

1. Departed
2. Gone
3. Mouth Flash (Kuchinohanabi)
4. Repeal (Tekkai)
5. The Blossom and the Thunder
8. Forbidden Thing (Kimmotsu)
9. Mahōinter (v2)
10. Boy’s Texture
11. Enbami
12. Outside (Soto)

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.