Grandaddy Announce New Album ‘Blu Wav’

It's out on February 16th...

Grandaddy will release new album ‘Blu Wav’ on February 16th.

The band – led by the venerable Jason Lytle – have released five studio albums to date, the most recent of which is 2017’s ‘Last Place’. Since the, Grandaddy have spent time recalibrating, releasing some 20th anniversary reissues.

Looking ahead, the band are now ready to return. Out on February 16th via Dangerbird, new album ‘Blu Wav’ – a literal mash-up of “bluegrass” and “new wave” – dips into their core values, offering beautiful group performances and some fantastic Jason Lytle lyricism.

Ever-evolving, Grandaddy open their account with new single ‘Watercooler’ – leaning on their Americana impulses, it takes on some country tones, while offering a wry, tongue-in-cheek look at an office romance.

Novelistic in tone, Jason Lytle shares…

“Most of my relationships have involved girls who worked in office settings. This song is about the end of one, or perhaps a few, of those relationships. Listeners will also notice the pedal steel on this track and eventually on many others from the forthcoming new album. It’s a first for Grandaddy, and I couldn’t be more thrilled about this fact.”

Tune in now.

1. Blu Wav
2. Cabin in My Mind
3. Long as I’m Not the One
4. You’re Going to Be Fine and I’m Going to Hell
5. Watercooler
6. Let’s Put this Pinto on the Moon
7. On a Train or Bus
8. Jukebox App
9. Yeehaw Ai in the Year 2025
10. Ducky, Boris and Dart
11. East Yosemite
12. Nothin’ to Lose
13. Blu Wav Buh Bye

Photo Credit: Dustin Aksland 

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.