Glen Matlock Goes It Alone With ‘Head On A Stick’

And there's a new album incoming, too...

Glen Matlock is back.

The bass player helped power the Sex Pistols’ music revolution, and remains a formidable part of their sonic arsenal in the 21st century. He’s always a member of Blondie, but he isn’t about to stop there.

Inking a new deal with Cooking Vinyl, Glen Matlock is ready to unveil a new solo album, with political and personal resonance. Out on April 27th – and available to order online – ‘Consequences Coming’ deals with the absolute state of our country, and demands the crooks at the top be held accountable.

He comments…

“The album was written and recorded in Britain over the last 18 months or so with a posse of seasoned but on point performers. All done during the debacle that is Brexit and the rise and fall of the turgid Trump episode in the US. These songs reflect my take on the whole sorry mess that has ensued.”

“Now the wheels of the music business can sometimes move at a lugubrious, glacial pace, and sometimes the moment might be lost but seeing no break in the clouds or clear light at the end of the tunnel, surely the only demand on people’s lips should be that there are ‘Consequences Coming’ for the fat headed oafs who have foisted their asinine warped sensibilities on us.”

Alongside this, Cooking Vinyl will given Glen Matlock’s previous solo albums – 2010’s ‘Born Running’ and 2018’s excellent ‘Good To Go’ – a full vinyl re-issue.

The new material finds Glen Matlock kicking against the pricks, and Clash is able to brig you righteous new single ‘Head On A Stick’. We can hear vintage rock ‘n’ roll elements in here alongside Matlock’s punk energy, with a dose of new wave magic in the production, too.

It’s classic songwriting, one that takes aim at the useless powers-that-be. He explains…

“Peeved at the predictable but ultimately pointless political lurch to the right that has happened in the West over the past few years, one which has been aided and abetted by the vested interests of a client press, I put pen to paper and plectrum to guitar to compose a song that’s a call to arms, a wake up alarm and primal open your eyes scream.”

“It might be easy to be wise after the event but some saw where we were headed and in the words of ‘Pete Seeger’ attempted to hammer out a warning. We always thought it can’t happen here but it sadly most definitely has and heads should justifiably roll…”

Complete with a bold performance clip, you can check out ‘Head On A Stick’ below.

Copyright 2022 Danny Clifford. All rights reserved. This image must not be used anywhere at all without prior written permission from Danny Clifford. Mandatory credit – DANNY CLIFFORD. contact [email protected] Obligatory Credit Danny Clifford


  1. Head On A Stick
  2. Consequences Coming
  3. Magic Carpet Ride
  4. Speaking In Tongues
  5. Shine Off Your Shoes
  6. Constant Craving
  7. Step In The Right Direction
  8. Something ‘Bout The Weekend
  9. This Empty Heart
  10. Face In A Crowd
  11. Tried To Tell You
  12. Can’t Be Myself With You
  13. This Ship
Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.