It's due on September 15th...
Late Night Tales: Franz Ferdinand

Toasting the tenth anniversary of their debut album, Franz Ferdinand remain on peerless form.

The Glasgow based group returned with new record 'Right Thoughts Right Words Right Action' earlier this year, playing a number of triumphant shows in the process.

Now the band are to steer a fresh instalment of 'Late Night Tales'. Out on September 15th, Franz Ferdinand have recorded a version of 'Leaving My Old Life Behind', originally recorded by Jonathan Halper.

Alongside this, the group have pieced together a mix which swings from light to dark, modern to classic. Expect Brian Wilson productions, an appearance from Boards Of Canada and Carrie Cleveland's Northern Soul anthem 'Love Will Set You Free'.

Ending with a spoken word piece by Alex Kapranos, this new mix finds the band opening up about their inspirations as well as pointing to potential future studio references.

'Late Night Tales: Franz Ferdinand' will be released on September 15th. Tracklisting:

1. Franz Ferdinand - Leaving My Old Life Behind (Exclusive Cover Version)
2. R. Stevie Moore - I'm Only Sleeping
3. The West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band - Eighteen Is Over The Hill
4. Sandy Nelson - Let There Be Drums
5. Life Without Buildings - New Town
6. Can - Connection
7. The Liminanas - The Darkside
8. Ian Dury - Reasons To Be Cheerful Part 3
9. Disco Dub Band - For The Love Of Money
10. Zapp - More Bounce To The Ounce
11. Serge Gainsbourg - Requiem Pour Un Con
12. Lee "Scratch" Perry - Disco Devil
13. James Brown - King Heroin
14. Carrie Cleveland - Love Will Set You Free
15. Paul McCartney & Wings - Nineteen Hundred & Eighty Five
16. Boards of Canada - Reach For The Dead
17. Oneohtrix Point Never - Zebra
18. Justus Köhncke - Old Man
19. American Spring - Sweet Mountain
20. Alex Kapranos - Defibrillator (Spoken Word) ​

Buy Clash Magazine

Get Clash on your mobile, for free: iPhone / Android


Follow Clash: