Folk Off

BBC Folk Awards Results

The BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards took place last night, celebrating the best in contemporary British folk music.

The big story of the night was the Lifetime Achievement Award given to John Martyn. A legendary figure in British music. Martyn is perhaps best known for his 1973 album “Solid Air”, the title track of which is dedicated to his late friend Nick Drake.

Martyn has enjoyed something of a career renaissance recently, ironically after the amputation of a foot made it more difficult than ever for the singer to tour.

Other highlights from the occassion included Graham Coxon presenting the Good Tradition award to Shirley Collins, before playing a version of her song “Just As The Tide Was Flowing”. Martin Simpson left with a clutch of gongs, winning “Best Album” and “Best Traditional Track”. KT Tunstall was another special guest, presenting “Folk Singer Of The Year” to her fellow Scot, Julie Fowlis.

The full list of winners runs as follows:

Duo Of The Year – John Tams & Barry Coope
Horizon Award (Best Emerging Artist) – Rachel Unthank & The Winterset
Best Traditional Track – “Cold Haily Rainy Night” by The Imagined Village
Musician Of The Year – Andy Cutting
Best Original Song – “Never Any Good” by Martin Simpson
Folk Club Of The Year – Dartford Folk Club
Album Of The Year – “Prodigal Son” by Martin Simpson
Best Live Act – Bellowhead
Good Tradition Award – Shirley Collins
Best Group – Lau
Folk Singer Of The Year – Julie Fowlis
Lifetime Acheivement Award – John Martyn

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.