Floating Points Announces New Album ‘Cascade’

It's out on September 13th...

Floating Points have shared details of new album ‘Cascade’.

The UK producer has embarked on numerous projects in the past few years, such as his spiritual jazz inclined partnership with Pharaoh Sanders – the Mercury nominated ‘Promises’ – and the ballet score, ‘Mere Mortals’.

New album ‘Cascade’ reaches to his 2019 album ‘Crush’, offering a club-oriented continuation. Working from stripped back equipment – his laptop, essentially – he found himself drawn back to his electronic foundation points, in particular locations in and around Manchester.

“There’s something about Manchester that keeps coming back to me, and I think it’s partly to do with its record shops,” he recalls in a press note. “As a kid, my school was around the corner from the Northern Quarter so at lunchtimes, I’d run out of the school gates and skip lunch altogether to go and listen to records. I’m sure I was a total pain in the arse constantly pulling records off the shelves, but it was amazing. I’d be listening to Autechre at Pelican Neck, Dilla at Fat City, David Morales mixes at the Factory Records shop… It gave me a parallel education in music to what I was being taught at school”. 

So, then: ‘Cascade’. It’s out on September 13th via Ninja Tune, and it features nine tracks. New single ‘Key103’ is named after an underground Manchester radio station, and the purring electronics are shaped for club use.

As ever with Floating Points, there’s an excellent use of sound design – it’s a club thumper, but it works on multiple levels.

Out now, the video utilises live painting from Akiko Nakayama – a frequent Floating Points collaborator.

Tune in below.


1. Vocoder (Club Mix) 
2. Key103 
3. Birth4000 
4. Del Oro 
5. Fast Forward 
6. Ocotillo 
7. Afflecks Palace 
8. Tilt Shift 
9. Ablaze

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.