LONDON, ENGLAND - DECEMBER 01: The BRIT Awards 2023 Rising Star Filming, Battersea Arts Centre, on 1st December 2022. (Photo by JM Enternational)

FLO Win BRITs Rising Star Award 2023

"We are so shocked and grateful..."

FLO have won the BRITs Rising Star Award.

The three-piece – Renée, Jorja and Stella – are a phenomenon in waiting, with every move from the group causing headlines. Debut single ‘Cardboard Box’ remains an all-out bop, and their recent performance at the MOBOs signalled their majesty.

Now FLO have been named at the winner of the BRITs Rising Star Award. Formerly known as the Critics Choice Award, this is the first time in BRIT history that the trophy has been lifted by a group – a heady accolade.

FLO have been announced as winners, battling off competition from pop star Cat Burns and newgen junglist Nia Archives.

The Rising Star award is seen as a prominent industry accolade, having been won by everyone from Adele to James Bay, with 2022’s trophy being scooped by Holly Humberstone.

In a statement, FLO commented…

“From growing up watching the BRITs, to finding each other and forming FLO, releasing our first body of work in 2022 and winning a BRIT award in the same year!! We are so shocked and grateful. We are the first group to win the BRITs Rising Star! We’ve just made history and couldn’t have done it without our wonderful fans and supportive families. It’s truly a dream come true. We feel so empowered creating the music we love and we hope others feel that too.”

BRIT Awards 2023 takes place on February 11th at London’s The O2 Arena.

Photo Credit: John Marshall/JMEnternational

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.