Fleetwood Mac Tribute Album Planned

Featuring MGMT, Best Coast, The Kills...

A host of indie names are taking part in a new Fleetwood Mac tribute compilation.

For years, admitting to an admiration for Fleetwood Mac would demolish your cool points in a stock exchange fall worthy of Glasgow Rangers. Now, though, the blues turned soft rock outfit can sit easily along more standard cool fare.

A new compilation aims to bring together a series of tributes to the band, featuring some of the finest names in the indie sphere. ‘Just Tell Me That You Want Me: A Tribute To Fleetwood Mac’ contains plenty of one off performances and collaborations, some of which frankly sound very exciting.

The project is being speared by Randall Poster and Gelya Robb, who were part of the creative team behind last year’s ‘Rave On Buddy Holly’.

“The story of Fleetwood Mac has always intrigued me.” Poster revealed recently, “And we’ve tried to tell that story through the arc of music we’ve recorded. Working with some of our favorite artists and performers, the magical musical legacy of Fleetwood Mac shows itself to be alive and well.”

Amongst the gems on show:

– twin grunge guitar titans Lee Ranaldo and J Mascis dismantling ‘Albatross’
– Antony Hegarty breezing through ‘Landslide’
– The Kills tackling ‘Dreams’
– MGMT exploring ‘Future Games’

‘Just Tell Me That You Want Me: A Tribute To Fleetwood Mac’ is set to be released on August 13th. Tracklisting:

1). ‘Albatross’- Lee Ranaldo Band Featuring J Mascis
2. ‘Landslide’- Antony
3). Before The Beginning’ – Trixie Whitley
4). ‘Oh Well’ – Billy Gibbons & Co.
5). ‘Rhiannon’ – Best Coast
6). ‘Think About Me’ – The New Pornographers
7). ‘Angel’- Marianne Faithfull
8). ‘Silver Springs’ – Lykke Li
9). ‘Gold Dust Woman’ – Karen Elson
10). ‘Storms’ – Matt Sweeney And Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy
11). ‘Straight Back’ – Washed Out
12). ‘That’s All For Everyone’- Tame Impala
13). ‘Sisters Of The Moon’ – Craig Wedren with St. Vincent
14. ‘Dreams’ – The Kills
15). ‘Gypsy’- Gardens & Villa
16). ‘Tusk’ – The Crystal Ark
17). ‘Future Games’ – MGMT

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.