Efterklang Confirm New Album ‘Things We Have In Common’

It's out on September 27th...

Efterklang has confirmed plans for new album ‘Things We Have In Common’.

The band’s current creative phase opened with 2019’s ‘Altid Sammen’, before continuing on 2021 album ‘Windflowers’. Heading back to the studio, incoming LP ‘Things We Have In Common’ completes this triptych, featuring nine songs that embrace creative openness.

Set to play London’s Barbican on October 5th, Efterklang have just shared something new from the album. Out now, ‘Plant’ reaches toward the end, embracing the unknown – the sound of these Danish musicians challenging themselves, it feels thoroughly true to their core instincts.

Efterklang vocalist Casper Clausen calls it “a song dedicated to the act of reaching out, beyond ourselves, daring to go beyond our inner world and share ourselves with others, putting our vulnerability on display, like a plant reaching for the light. This is one of the first songs we wrote for the new album, and it’s been a long journey, starting from a sketch by our longtime friend, collaborator, and co-founder of Efterklang, pianist Rune Mølgaard.”

The video is part of the album’s carefully thought-through visual identity, built by Mabe Fratti and Søren Lynggaard. Online now, the pleasingly colourful clip for ‘Plant’ seemingly came together in no time at all, with Mabe Fratti calling the shoot “extremely joyous”.

He says:

“I remember witnessing the song developing when I went with Efterklang to Sommertræf two years ago. It’s a breeze, this song. I felt that Casper’s tone and mine are super friendly with each other!”

Tune in now.

1. Balancing Stones
2. Plant
3. Getting Reminders
4. Ambulance
5. Leave It All Behind
6. Animated Heart
7. Shelf Break
8. Sentiment
9. To A New Day

Photo Credit: Søren Lynggaard

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.