Duran Duran Announce New Album ‘Danse Macabre’

It's a Hallowe'en special...

Duran Duran have shared plans for new album ‘Danse Macabre’.

The new LP was spurred into being by a special show in Las Vegas last year, a Hallowe’en extravaganza in the American city. Taking this energy into the studio, Duran Duran began sculpting their sixteenth studio album – pulling together some special covers in the process.

Returning collaborator Mr Hudson is on production, while the tracklisting boasts specially commissioned takes on material from Billie Eilish (‘Bury A Friend’), Talking Heads (‘Psycho Killer’), the Rolling Stones (‘Paint It Black’), Siouxsie and the Banshees (‘Spellbound’), and the Specials (‘Ghost Town’).

Out on October 27th – you can pre-order it now – the title track is out now as their spooky but emphatic lead single. Keyboard player Nick Rhodes say of the album…

The song ‘Danse Macabre’ celebrates the joy and madness of Halloween. It is the title track of our forthcoming album, which gathers together an unusual mix of cover versions, reworked Duran Duran songs and several new compositions. The idea was born out of a show we played in Las Vegas on October 31st, 2022. We had decided to seize the moment to create a unique, special event… the temptation of using glorious gothic visuals set to a dark soundtrack of horror and humour was simply irresistible.

That evening inspired us to explore further and to make an album, using Halloween as the key theme. The record metamorphosed through a pure, organic process, and not only was it made faster than anything since our debut album, it has also resulted in something none of us could have ever predicted. Emotion, mood, style and attitude have always been at the heart of Duran Duran’s DNA, we search for light in the darkness and darkness in the light, and I feel we have somehow managed to capture the essence of all of that in this project.”

Simon Le Bon adds: “It’s about a crazy Halloween party. It’s supposed to be fun!”

Band mate John Taylor says: “After all these years, ‘Danse Macabre’ offers an interesting insight into the personality of the band. The music packs a real punch.”

And last but not least Roger Taylor adds: “I hope you take a journey with us through the darker side of our inspirations into where we’re at in 2023. Maybe, you’ll leave with a deeper understanding of how Duran Duran got to this moment in time.”

Check out ‘Danse Macabre’ below.


  1. Nightboat 
  2. Black Moonlight
  3. Love Voudou  
  4. Bury A Friend
  5. Supernature
  6. Danse Macabre
  7. Secret Oktober 31st
  8. Ghost Town
  9. Paint It Black
  10. Super Lonely Freak
  11. Spellbound 
  12. Psycho Killer (feat. Victoria De Angelis)
  13. Confession in the Afterlife

Photo Credit: Stephanie Pistel

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.