Before start of UK tour

American newcomers The Whigs have offered fans a free download ahead of their UK tour.

Bursting out of Athens, The Whigs have a dose of good 'ol fashioned rock n roll. Now onto their third album, the band's assured mixture of crunching riffs and classic songwriting has won them acclaim far beyond their native shores.

With friends in high places The Whigs spent 2010 in some massive venues. Kings Of Leon invited them on tour, while shows with Black Keys, The Hold Steady and more also took the band across the globe.

Focussing on their new material, the band have confirmed details of their new single 'So Lonely'. Due for release on February 14th, the track comes equipped with a run through of the Ramones classic 'Gimme Shock Treatment'.

Third album 'In The Dark' is due to be released next week, and as a special preview The Whigs have decided to give away a new track. Taken from the album, 'Dying' is now the band's closing song when playing live. Already a fan favourite, you can grab it below...

Meanwhile, The Whigs have confirmed the following shows:

22 Oxford Jericho
23 London Dingwalls
24 Sheffield The Plug
25 Birmingham Academy 3
26 Manchester Night & Day
27 Nottingham The Bodega
28 Bristol Thekla

Click here to buy tickets for The Whigs!

Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.