DJ Lag Announces New Album ‘The Rebellion’

Listen to new track 'Oke Oke'...

South African DJ and producer DJ Lag has today announced his sophomore album. ‘The Rebellion’, set for release June 21st via Black Major.

‘The Rebellion’ is an eclectic, transnational offering, maintaining Lag’s homegrown DNA whilst exploring sub-genres like 3Step, Afro tech, Amapiano, Hip-Hop, and even Drill. With the announce comes new single ‘Oke Oke’, a juiced-up Gqom hybrid featuring upcoming artist Jazz Alonso‘s seductive rallying cry. A site of rhythmic rebellion, the track was produced alongside Grammy-nominated producer GG (Gabrielle Stok) during a late-night session in London. In Alonso’s own words, the song conjures images of “the sea at night, eating black grapes and drinking dark rum, a lover is in the ocean, asking you to join them.”

Reflecting on the collaboration, DJ Lag shares: “Collaborating with Jazz was exhilarating. Her sound deeply connected with me, and our partnership unfolded seamlessly. The inception of ‘Oke’ was spontaneous; Jazz initiated the idea, crafting the flow and lyrics on the spot, with GG and myself completing the song that very evening.”

Coinciding with the album reveal, DJ Lag will embark on worldwide tour with a huge headline date at London’s Village Underground on May 25th. 


1. Iza Ngamandla (feat. Sykes, Vanco)

2. Bamba (feat. Workaholics)

3. Hade Boss (feat. Mr Nation Thingz, K.C Driller)

4. Trouble (feat. NovaBoy)

5. Yebo (feat. Kamo Mphela)

6. Dubula (feat. Da Man)

7. Oke Oke (ft. Jazz Alonso)

8. Ubhiya

9. Kwenzakalan (feat. Blxckie, Leodaleo, Dezzodigo) 

10. Shay’sana (feat. Kamo Mphela & Robot Boii)

11. Yeyeyeyeye (feat. Sane, Charlie Magandi)

12. Gqom/Drill (feat. YoungstaCPT, Dee Koala, Holy Alpha, Kay Faith)

13. Hade Boss Re-Up (Feat. Mr Nation Thingz, K.C Driller, DJ Maphorisa, Kamo Mphela, Robot Boii, 2woshort, Xduppy)

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.