David Holmes Announces New Album ‘Blind On A Galloping Horse’

His first solo LP in over a decade...

David Holmes will release new album ‘Blind On A Galloping Horse’.

The new album is the lauded producer’s first since ‘The Holy Pictures’ back in 2008, and was teased across the weekend. A noted soundtrack artist, David Holmes has worked on numerous high profile projects over the year, but this return to solo duties still stands out.

Due to be released on November 10th via Heavenly Recordings, the 14-song tracklisting contains some intriguing facets of information – notably a cover of ‘I Laugh Myself To Sleep’, an unreleased song penned by the late Andrew Weatherall.

New single ‘Necessary Genius’ is an apt starting point. The electronic world-building remains peerless, a sign of David Holmes’ three-dimensional take on sound. Out now, there’s a beatific quality to the music, enhanced by that wonderful guest vocal from Raven Violet.

The artwork is a nod to the passing of Sinead O’Connor – one of David Holmes’ close friends, the two had worked on material together towards the end of her life.

Tune in now.

1. When People Are Occupied Resistance Is Justified
2. It’s Over If We Run Out Of Love
3. Emotionally Clear
4. Hope Is The Last Thing To Die
5. You Will Know Me By The Smell Of Onions
6. Necessary Genius
7. Yeah Yeah Yeah
8. I Laugh Myself To Sleep
9. Too Muchroom
10. Agitprop
11. Stop Apologising
12. Tyranny Of The Talentless
13. Love In The Upside Down
14. Blind On A Galloping Horse

Photo Credit: Steve Gullick

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.