Studio album due on May 7th

Damon Albarn is set to release a studio album based on his 'Dr Dee' project on May 7th.

Inspired by an Elizabethan scientist and magician, 'Dr Dee' was another unexpected venture from Damon Albarn. Opening at the Manchester International Festival last year, the opera project will now receive a studio counterpart.

'Dr Dee' - the album - was recorded in Damon Albarn's West London studio last year, with sessions also taking place in Salford with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra. Mixed by Valgeir Sigursson in Reykjavik, 'Dr Dee' was recently described by Damon Albarn as being 'strange pastoral folk'.

Watch a trailer for the album below.

- - -

1) The Golden Dawn
2) Apple Carts
3) Oh Spirit Animate Us
4) The Moon Exalted
5) A Man of England
6) Saturn
7) Coronation
8) The Marvelous Dream
9) A Prayer
10) Edward Kelley
11) Preparation
12) 9 point Star
13) Temptation Comes In The Afternoon
14) Watching the Fire That Waltzed Away
15) Moon (Interlude)
16) Cathedrals
17) Tree Of Life
18) The Dancing King

- - -

'Dr Dee' is due to be released on May 7th. Looking ahead, Damon Albarn will take the opera to OneFest on April 14th for a rare outdoor appearance.

In addition to this, 'Dr Dee' will also hit London this summer as part of the Cultural Olympiad. A new run of shows has been organised for the Colosseum on the following dates: 25th, 26th, 28th and 29th June and 4th, 6th and 7th July.

Follow Clash: