Chastity Belt Announce New LP ‘Live Laugh Love’

It's out on March 29th...

Chastity Belt will release new album ‘Live Laugh Love’ on March 29th.

The band broadened their approach on 2019’s self-titled LP, tackling themes of grief, loss, and continuation. Since then, songwriter Julia Shapiro has released a solo album, before the four-piece reconvened to focus on new material.

Out on March 29th, the new album features 11 tracks, pulling Chastity Belt out of the pandemic, and into our newly regained freedoms. New song ‘Hollow’ is out now, merging shoegaze-tinged sonics with Julia’s affecting vocal.

She comments: “A classic Chazzy-style tune about feeling lost and stuck, waiting for something to change without necessarily taking action. The older I get, the more I realize that I might just always feel this way, and it’s more about sitting with the feeling and accepting it, rather than trying to fight it. I’m still here, doing my thing, whatever that is. I remember first jamming on this song together when we were all in Joshua Tree during the pandemic… maybe spring 2021?”

Band mate Lydia Lund says of the Nick Shively directed video –

“Generally when we set about coming up with an idea for a music video as a band, we try to think of something ridiculous we’d like to do that we would never otherwise fund ourselves (ie. Segway adventure, medieval horseback riding). In each shot we were performing in order to make our friends in the room laugh, taking each bit to the next level, seeking joy in late capitalism.”

Tune in now.

1. Hollow
2. Funny
3. Clumsy
4. It’s Cool
5. Kool-Aid
6. Chemtrails
7. Blue
8. Tethered
9. I-90 Bridge
10. Laugh
11. Like That

Photo Credit: Jena Feldman

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.