Cat Powers Photograph
It's out on January 14th...

Cat Power has unveiled plans for new album 'Covers'.

Chan Marshall is an exquisite songwriter, an artist who seems to dive deeper than most into the inner recesses of her emotions and experiences.

Yet she's also a striking interpreter of other artist's work - notably on her 2000 album 'The Covers Record' and 2008's 'Jukebox'.

'Covers' is out on January 14th via Domino, and it completes this ad hoc trilogy, with source material crafted by Billie Holiday, Nick Cave, and The Replacements, amongst others.

Cat Power launched the project with a live performance of 'Bad Religion', Frank Ocean's gorgeous modern soul epic.

“That song was bringing me down,” she admits. “So I started pulling out lyrics from ‘Bad Religion’ and singing those instead of getting super depressed. Performing covers is a very enjoyable way to do something that feels natural to me when it comes to making music.”

Check out her performance below.

Alongside this, Cat Power has offered up a deeply affecting take on The Pogues' classic 'A Pair Of Brown Eyes' - tune in now.

1. Bad Religion - Frank Ocean
2. Unhate - Cat Power - Chan Marshall
3. Pa Pa Power - Dead Man’s Bones
4. A Pair Of Brown Eyes - The Pogues
5. Against the Wind - Bob Seger
6. Endless Sea - Iggy Pop
7. These Days – Jackson Browne
8. It Wasn’t God Who Made Honky Tonk Angels - Kitty Wells
9. I Had A Dream Joe - Nick Cave
10. Here Comes A Regular - The Replacements
11. I’ll Be Seeing You - Billie Holiday

Photo Credit: Mario Sorrenti

- - -


Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.

Follow Clash: