Caroline Polachek’s ‘Blood And Butter’ Is A Bagpipe-Aided Bop

You truly love to see it...

Caroline Polachek has shared new single ‘Blood And Butter’.

The avant pop auteur’s new album ‘Desire, I Want To Turn Into You’ was named one of 16 albums to look forward to in 2023 by Clash, and thus far it’s proving worthy of the hype. Given its full release on Valentine’s Day – February 14th, for the non-romantics out there – new single ‘Blood And Butter’ is a wonderful teaser.

Constructed by Caroline Polachek and Danny L. Harle, it leans on her 90s alt roots, while also gazing at the future. The free-flowing, mellifluous vocal takes on a Celtic feel, particularly when award-winning bagpiper Brìghde Chaimbeul enters the fray.

It’s a completely unexpected moment, but one that totally works – and hopefully a few Polachek stans will get turned on to Brìghde Chaimbeul’s wonderful 2019 album ‘The Reeling’.

Tune in now, then check out the full tracklisting for ‘Desire, I Want To Turn Into You’ after the jump.

  1. Welcome To My Island
  2. Pretty In Possible
  3. Bunny Is A Rider
  4. Sunset
  5. Crude Drawing Of An Angel
  6. I Believe
  7. Fly To You (feat. Grimes and Dido)
  8. Blood And Butter
  9. Hopedrunk Everasking
  10. Butterfly Net
  11. Smoke
  12. Billions

Photo Credit: Aidan Zamiri

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.