Broken Records Launch New LP ‘The Dreamless Sleep Of The 1990s’

Bold new single 'Night Time' is out now...

Broken Records have launched plans for new album ‘The Dreamless Sleep Of The 1990s’.

The Scottish band’s last album ‘What We Might Know’ landed back in 2018, with Broken Records gradually piecing themselves back together in the aftermath of the pandemic. A run of headline and festival dates have been confirmed, with the Edinburgh band once more hurling themselves into the breach.

New album ‘The Dreamless Sleep Of The 1990s’ is out on October 2nd (order it online, in fact) with Broken Records citing former 4AD labelmates The National and the early 90s R.E.M. run – ‘Out Of Time’, ‘Automatic For The People’, ‘New Adventures In Hi-Fi’ – as key touchstones.

New song ‘Night Time’ is a soaring return, and it epitomises their current aesthetic – rooted in acoustic guitars, it also charges headlong towards the horizon with a Springsteen-esque flourish.

“It’s a song about remembering old loves” explains frontman Jamie Sutherland “…and the sweetness that comes with how they were everything and how those feelings now feel so dwarfed by the magnitude of marriage, children, responsibility, family. The simple, sweet pain, elation, and self-indulgence of being heartbroken and young when nothing was really of any consequence.”

Check out bold new single ‘Night Time’ below.


You Won’t Be There
Night Time
The Dreamless Sleep Of The 1990s
An Answer
Is There Still Light?
A Thousand Songs
Is It Love (You’re Looking For)?
All The Time

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.