Brigid Mae Power Announces New Album ‘Dream From The Deep Well’

It's out on June 30th...

Irish songwriter Brigid Mae Power will release new album ‘Dream From The Deep Well’ on June 30th.

The artist’s wonderful 2020 album ‘Head Above The Water’ took her work to new heights, matching folk-rooted beauty with lyrical complexity. Hitting the road this month – you can catch her at London’s Servant Jazz Quarters on March 28th – Brigid Mae Power has just released something new.

Out on June 30th, ‘Dream From The Deep Well’ represents a yearning from escapism in an increasingly dark world. The political climate remains unsettled, while the atmosphere for artists in our hyper-capitalist society is frequently endangered.

Set to be released on Fire Records, the album is trailed by a new single, with Brigid sharing the title track in full. Beautiful in an almost mystical way, she channels the work of early 70s folk songwriters – think Shelagh McDonagh, for example – with something new, and ‘other’.

Brigid comments…

“It’s a deep dig, as the title track suggests. I was sick of the superficial nature of politics and music; it was written out of frustration at people who talk a lot but do nothing, especially in the sad and difficult times we’ve all just encountered.”

Tune in now.

1. I Know Who Is Sick
2. Counting Down
3. Maybe It’s Just The Lightning
4. I Must Have Been Blind
5. The Waterford Song
6. Ashling
7. I’ll Wait Outside For You
8. Dream From The Deep Well
9. I Don’t Know Your Story
10. Some Life You’ve Known
11. Down By The Glenside

Photo Credit: Eva Carolan

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.