New album 'Someday World' due on May 5th
Brian Eno x Karl Hyde

Brian Eno has always thrived on collaboration.

Sure, the producer/auteur has a rich solo career, but Eno really seems to come into his own when presented with an alternate viewpoint.

Well, this next collaboration certainly involves that. Brian Eno and Karl Hyde have recorded an album together, with 'Someday World' set to be released through Warp on May 5th.

Two contrasting quotes:

“A lot of the nicer cities I know are cities built on hills, and the cities are beautiful because the buildings have a challenge to adapt to. They have to mould themselves around the geology that they've formed upon. And that always makes for very interesting buildings, because they can't just be blocks, they have to somehow morph around the environment. A lot of the constructions on the album were deliberately irregular and awkward. I had a big collection of 'beginnings' sitting around waiting for something to galvanise them into life, to make them more than just 'experiments'. That something turned out to be Karl Hyde.” - Brian Eno

“It's a bit like being nine years old again. You have no idea what you've just been given, the record button has been pressed and you're on. And then these unlikely patterns start to happen. The biggest surprise was discovering we both had a love of Afrobeat, Cyclical music based in live playing. When Brian played me these early tracks it was, 'Oh my god, this is home! Can I borrow a guitar?” - Karl Hyde

'Someday World' will be available on special edition 2CD (with four bonus songs), CD, double gatefold LP and digital formats.

1. The Satellites
2. Daddy’s Car
3. A Man Wakes Up
4. Witness
5. Strip It Down
6. Mother Of A Dog
7. Who Rings The Bell
8. When I Built This World
9. To Us All

Buy Clash magazine
Clash on the App Store