Arlo Parks Confirms New Album ‘My Soft Machine’

New single 'Weightless' is online now...

Arlo Parks will release new album ‘My Soft Machine’ on May 26th.

The London artist struck gold on her debut record ‘Collapsed In Sunbeams’; recorded in East London, it propelled her to international status, scooping a BRIT Award and the Mercury Prize in the process.

Out on May 26th, ‘My Soft Machine’ represents the follow-up, and Arlo Parks is typically eloquent with her introductory quote.

The world/our view of it is peppered by the biggest things we experience – our traumas, upbringing, vulnerabilities almost like visual snow. This record is life through my lens, through my body – the mid 20s anxiety, the substance abuse of friends around me, the viscera of being in love for the first time, navigating PTSD and grief and self sabotage and joy, moving through worlds with wonder and sensitivity – what it’s like to be trapped in this particular body.

There is a quote from a Joanna Hogg film called the Souvenir, it’s an A24 semi-autobiographical film with Tilda Swinton – it recounts a young film student falling in love with an older, charismatic man as a young film student then being drawn into his addiction – in an early scene he’s explaining why people watch films – “we don’t want to see life as it is played out we want to see life as it is experienced in this soft machine.” So there we have it, the record is called…. ‘My Soft Machine’.

New single ‘Weightless’ is online now, a beautifully weighted return propelled by Arlo’s impeccable word play. The beat feels a little harder, however, the progress evident; she isn’t standing still, she’s continually moving forwards.

She says the single “surrounds the painful experience of caring deeply about someone who only gives you tiny breadcrumbs of affection. It’s about suddenly realising that a person has dulled your edges and embarking on the slow journey back to being a brighter version of yourself.”

The Marc Oller directed video is online now; catch Arlo Parks on tour this September, including a show at London’s eventim Apollo on September 28th.

Arlo Parks Confirms New Album ‘My Soft Machine’

1. Bruiseless
2. Impurities
3. Devotion
4. Blades
5. Purple Phase
6. Weightless
7. Pegasus ft. Phoebe Bridgers
8. Dog Rose
9. Puppy
10. I’m Sorry
11. Room (red wings)
12. Ghost

Photo Credit: Alexandra Waespi

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.