ANOHNI And The Johnsons Announce New LP ‘My Back As A Bridge For You To Cross’

New song 'It Must Change' is out now...

ANOHNI And The Johnsons will release new album ‘My Back As A Bridge For You To Cross’ on July 7th.

The UK-born and New York based artist is a true inspiration, building a singular catalogue. 2016’s ‘HOPELESSNESS’ was a riveting work of unbridled emotion, winning across the board rave reviews in the process.

New album ‘My Back As A Bridge For You To Cross’ is her first in seven years, sculpted alongside noted soul producer Jimmy Hogarth.

“I’ve been thinking a lot about Marvin Gaye’s ‘What’s Going On’. That was a really important touchstone in my mind,” says ANOHNI of her sixth studio album. “Some of these songs respond from the present day to global and environmental concerns first voiced in popular music over 50 years ago.” 

New song ‘It Must Change’ feels urgent and emotive, with ANOHI’s stunning vocal imbuing each word with vitality. “The truth is I always thought you were beautiful in your own way,” she sings; “That’s why this is so sad…”

Munroe Bergdorf stars in the video, which was directed by Iain Forsyth and Jane Pollard.

Tune in now.


1. It Must Change
2. Go Ahead
3. Sliver Of Ice
4. Can’t
5. Scapegoat
6. It’s My Fault
7. Rest
8. There Wasn’t Enough
9. Why Am I Alive Now?
10. You Be Free

Photo: By ANOHNI With Nomi Ruiz

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.