Anna Calvi Announces New Album ‘Hunter’

It drops on August 31st...

Anna Calvi has announced plans for new album 'Hunter'.

The songwriter emerged from the shadows a few weeks back, announcing plans for a short burst of live shows.

Set to play London's Heaven venue on June 19th, new album 'Hunter' will follow on August 31st.

Recorded at London's KONK Studios alongside Nick Launay, it features Adrian Utley from Portishead on keys and Martyn Casey from The Bad Seeds on bass.

Said to be focussed on side-stepping sexual convention and gender norms, the music on 'Hunter' is “free from the story that either gender is given, free from worrying how people would judge me on what I want to do with my body and myself. For me, that’s quite a utopian vision.”

New single 'Don't Beat The Girl Out Of The Boy' is online now, with Anna explaining: "It’s a song about the defiance of happiness. It’s about being free to identify yourself in whichever way you please, without any restraints from society."

William Kennedy directs the visuals – choreographed by Aaron Sillis, you can check them out below.

Finally, catch Anna Calvi at the following shows:

27 Belfast The Belfast Empire
28 Dublin The Tivoli Theatre
30 Glasgow St Luke’s

1 Manchester O2 Ritz
3 Newcastle The Boiler Shop
4 Birmingham Town Hall
5 Brighton All Saints Church
6 Bristol SWX Bristol

For tickets to the latest Anna Calvi shows click HERE.

Join us on Vero, as we get under the skin of global cultural happenings. Follow Clash Magazine as we skip merrily between clubs, concerts, interviews and photo shoots. Get backstage sneak peeks and a true view into our world as the fun and games unfold.

Buy Clash Magazine

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.