AIM Independent Music Awards 2012 – Nominations

Full round up...

The full nominations for this year's AIM Independent Music Awards 2012 have been announced – check out the full list below.

Times are tough across the music industry, making it more and more difficult for independent music to survive. Thankfully, a new generation of dreamers, evangelists and plain ol' nutters are helping to keep the flame alive. Returning this year, the Association of Independent Music are set to hold an awards ceremony to recognise those making the most valuable contributions.

The full ceremony takes place on October 29th at The Brewery in London, with Huw Stephens and Steve Lamacq acting as compères. The full list of nominations was confirmed this morning, and showcases the richness and diversity of British independent music. Everyone from Adele to Bella Union boss Simon Raymonde are listed, with more than a few Clash favourites gaining a nod.

CEO of AIM Alison Wenham said of the awards. “We have doubled capacity for this years ‘Most Difficult Second AIM Awards (!)’ and the nominations are once again outstanding. These awards will recognise another great year for independents’ creativity and ingenuity, with Ninja Tune and Xtra Mile leading the nominations list. The companies and artists are all so special they should all get a medal, but a decent three course meal and an evening spent amongst friends is a prize in itself.”

As previously reported, legendary songwriter Edwyn Collins and Mute boss Daniel Miller are set to gain the Outstanding Contribution To Music Award and the Pioneer Award respectively.

Full nominations:

Best Live Act (voted for by visitors to

The Cribs

Dub Pistols

Enter Shikari

The Prodigy

Frank Turner

Independent Breakthrough Of The Year (in association with 7Digital)

Alabama Shakes

Alt – J

Django Django



Hardest Working Band Or Artist


Cancer Bats

Enter Shikari

Frank Turner

Skinny Lister

Best Difficult Second Album

Admiral Fallow – Tree Bursts In Snow

First Aid Kit – The Lion's Roar

Speech Debelle – Freedom Of Speech

The Invisible – Rispah

The Skints – Part & Parcel

Independent Album Of The Year (In association with Bird & Bird)

Alabama Shakes – Boys & Girls

Enter Shikari – A Flash Flood Of Colour

Liars – Wixiw

Future Of The Left – The Plot Against Common Sense

Rustie – Glass Swords

Best Small Label (in association with Sound Performance)

Alcopop! Records

Black Butter Records


Pink Mist

Xtra Mile Recordings

Genre Spotlight Award

Broadcaster Ft Peggy Seeger – Folksploitation

Lorn – Ask The Dust

Neil Cowley Trio – The Face Of Mount Molehill

Netsky – 2

Wiley – Evolve Or Be Extinct

Independent Entrepreneur Of The Year (in association with The Orchard)

Alex Di Savoia – Aardvark Records

Chris Goss / Tony Colman / Tom Kelsey – Hospital Records

Louis Barabbas – Debt Records

Sam Dyson – Distiller Records

Simon Raymonde – Bella Union

PPL Award For Most Played Independent Act


Arctic Monkeys


Emerald Madness


Special Catalogue Release Of The Year

Amon Tobin – Amon Tobin

Madness – A Guided Tour Of Madness

Can – The Lost Tapes

The 13th Floor Elevators – Music Of The Spheres

Various Artists – The Original Sound Of Cumbia

Independent Label Of The Year (in association with EDC)


Bella Union

Hospital Records


Ninja Tune

Indie Champion Award

Olli Dutton – Obscene Strategies

Ian Evans – IME Music

Steve Lamacq – BBC 6Music

Katie Parsons – Kerrang!

Shell Zenner – Amazing Radio

Best Independent Festival (voted for by visitors to

In The Woods Festival

Truck Festival

Y Not Festival


Bearded Theory

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.