A celebration of independent music...
AIM Awards 2013

The AIM Awards returned to London last night (September 3rd) - check out the full list of winners on Clash.

Independence is a commodity which must be fought for. With the growth of the internet changing fundamental aspects of the music industry, labels and artists have been forced to work together to find a way through, to find new ways of making themselves heard.

The Association of Independent Music (AIM) is a body dedicated to protecting the rights of independent labels and artists. Hosting a yearly awards ceremony, the event returned last night (September 3rd) to honour a few notable figures in the industry.

Franz Ferdinand performed live, while this year’s Outstanding Contribution To Music winner Billy Bragg also breezed through a few classics. CEO of AIM Alison Wenham commented:

"This year's AIM Awards winners reflect the towering strength of the indies in A&R. The high quality and diversity of all the winners in a very strong year for the sector points to a bright future for the UK music industry. Historically, the UK's indie sector has punched above its weight in the international marketplace and we are confident the winners will enjoy success across the world in the years to come."

Full list of winners:

Best Live Act (voted for by visitors to the-fly.co.uk):
Enter Shikari

Independent Breakthrough Of The Year (in association with 7digital): 
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis Hardest

Working Band Or Artist:
Frankie & The Heartstrings

Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album (in association with XFM):
The xx - ‘Co-exist’

Independent Album Of The Year (in association with Record Store Day):
Daughter - ‘If You Leave’

Best Small Label (in association with Disc Manufacturing Services):
Alcopop! Records

PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act:
Macklemore & Ryan Lewis

Special Catalogue Release Of The Year (in association with Amazon):
Various Artists - Scared To Get Happy : A Story of Indie Pop 1980 - 89

Independent Label Of The Year (in association with Coutts):
Warp Independent

Track Of The Year (in association with Spotify) :
Vampire Weekend - ‘Diane Young’

Independent Video Of The Year (in association with Vevo):
Django Django - ‘WOR’

Indie Champion Award (in association with Consolidated Independent):
Gilles Peterson - BBC 6music

Golden Welly Award (in association with UK Music, AIF + This Is Fake DIY):
In The Woods Special

Recognition Award:
Steve Lamacq - BBC 6music

Outstanding Contribution to Music (in association with eMusic):
Billy Bragg

Pioneer Award (in association with Nokia Music):
Geoff Travis, Rough Trade

Get the best of Clash on your iPhone - download the app here


Follow Clash: