A Place To Bury Strangers Album Plans

Full tracklisting unveiled

Hailed as one of the loudest bands around, New York’s A Place To Bury Strangers have appropriately enough named their new album ‘Exploding Head’.

There’s loud, and then there’s LOUD. Inspired by noise-pop legend such as My Bloody Valentine, three New York musicians decided to turn their amps up to eleven and see what fun they could have.

Naming themselves A Place To Bury Strangers the trio quickly earned a reputation as one of the most uncompromising groups around. Their music contains elements of 60s garage and the ethereal bliss of shoegazing but, y’know, a lot louder.

The band released their debut album back in 2007 after penning a deal with tiny indie label Killer Pimp. Touring with Black Rebel Motorcycle Club brought A Place To Bury Strangers more acclaim, before being invited to join Nine Inch Nails on their farewell dates.

Lead singer and guitarist Oliver Ackermann has taken a hands on approach to the band’s sound. Founding his own effects pedal company the musician set about crafting his own equipment, which has been purchased by the likes of My Bloody Valentine and Lightning Bolt.

Signing with Mute Records, A Place To Bury Strangers are preparing to release their second album. Titled ‘Exploding Head’ it blurs the edges between pleasure and pain, containing the paranoid crunch of first single ‘In Your Heart’.

The album goes on to contain some some astonishingly brutal yet beautiful moments. “I love the interplay and contrasts between something that’s pretty and something that’s scary,” explains Ackermann.

“Taking listeners to different places – even in one song – is so important, whether it makes them cry or pissed off. If you listen closely, some of the riffs on this record are actually like Ramones songs or ’60s bubblegum pop.”

With live dates due to follow at the likes of Shoreditch’s 1234 Festival, Reading and Leeds and an appearance at ATP in December, A Place To Bury Strangers are set to assault the UK shortly.

A Place To Bury Strangers are due to release their new album ‘Exploding Head’ on October 5th. Tracklisting is as follows:

1. It Is Nothing
2. In Your Heart
3. Lost Feeling
4. Deadbeat
5. Keep Slipping Away
6. Ego Death
7. Smile When You Smile
8. Everything Always Goes Wrong
9. Exploding Head
10. I Lived My Life To Stand In The Shadow Of Your Heart

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.