First names for the bill confirmed...

Thundercat and SOPHIE are amongst the first names to be confirmed for Meltdown curated by Nile Rodgers.

The disco icon will act as curator for this year's Meltdown, inviting an international array of talent to the Southbank Centre.

CHIC ft. Nile Rodgers will of course perform, with the first batch of names including Thundercat, SOPHIE, Songhoy Blues, KOKOROKO, and Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein performing the music of Stranger Things.

Elsewhere, fans can soak up the world premiere of Eurythmics Songbook, a new project helmed by David A. Stewart and featuring a raft of guests.

James Murphy and Soulwax will link for Despacio, alongside a modern reimagining of the original nightclub Studio 54 with DJ Jellybean Benitez at the controls.

Nile Rodgers commented: "It’s an honour for me to step into the shoes of David Bowie, Patti Smith, Ornette Coleman, Robert Smith and so many more to curate nine nights of amazing music for the people of London on its glorious South Bank. This is my home from home and it’s given me so much love and this is my way of giving back."

"My prime motivation was to present incredible music from all walks of life that would make everybody dance. From CHIC to KOKOROKO and our special Studio 54 night to my boy David A. Stewart and the Eurythmics Songbook, Songhoy Blues, Despacio and the full incredible lineup, we are going to dance, dance, dance from 3 - 11 August."

Tickets go on sale from 9am on May 14th.

Meltdown curated by Nile Rodgers runs between August 3rd - 11th. Photo Credit: Jill Furmanovsky

Join us on Vero, as we get under the skin of global cultural happenings. Follow Clash Magazine as we skip merrily between clubs, concerts, interviews and photo shoots. Get backstage sneak peeks and a true view into our world as the fun and games unfold.

Buy Clash Magazine


Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.

Follow Clash: