Premiere: The Magic Numbers – ‘Alias’

Listen to their new album in its entirety...

A perennial summer favourite, The Magic Numbers' August harmonies are built for sweeping, soaring choruses and killer middle eights.

True craftsmen, the band's catalogue is littered with joyous gems, with tracks which retain an evergreen lustre even as the CD jewel-case snaps and fades.

New album 'Alias' though, contains more than its fair share of introspective moments. Sure, that gilded sound remains, but The Magic Numbers – so often a good times band – are unafraid to make their melancholy public.

It's a curious juxtaposition. 'Wake Up' is a six minute rumination on regret, while 'I Thought I Wasn't Ready' is a slow-burning, soulful ode to heartbreak.

With the beaming light of their music, though, the band apply shade to darkness, optimism to melancholy. Remaining as affirming as ever, The Magic Numbers compose disco stomper 'E.N.D.' or the uplifting salute which is 'Roy Orbison'.

Capable of both melting and breaking your heart, The Magic Numbers may just have delivered the most composed, mature album of their career.

Out on August 18th, you can listen to it first on Clash.

Don't forget, The Magic Numbers will be touring this September:

10 Glasgow Garage
11 Liverpool East Village Arts Club
12 Manchester Academy 2
13 Leeds Met Uni
15 Sheffield Leadmill
16 Birmingham Library Institute
17 Bristol Bierkeller
20 Cambridge Junction
21 Oxford O2 Academy 2
23 Brighton St Georges Church
24 Portsmouth Wedgewood Rooms
25 London Forum

Related: The Magic Numbers Q&A

Buy Clash Magazine

Get Clash on your mobile, for free: iPhone / Android

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.