Premiere: Sacred Paws – ‘Six Songs’ EP

Charming, buoyant, affecting newcomers...

Sacred Paws are almost immediately infectious, a whirr of energy which blends high-life rhythms to skittish guitar lines, dervish drumming and sighing, over-lapping vocals.

The Glasgow two piece – Rachel Aggs (also of Trash Kit and Shopping) on guitar, Eilidh Rodgers on drums – formed while members of much loved noise pop group Golden Grrrls.

Quickly finding their own, quite distinct, identity, Sacred Paws have become cult fixtures in Glasgow. There's a charming, not-quite-finished feel to their music which only seems to enhance its personality, while the post-punk, poly-rhythmic approach to percussion leads the duo into effortlessly funky realms.

New EP 'Six Songs' is out on March 16th via Rock Action, and it's a superb introduction. Each track is part-song/part-chant, with the delicately arranged, multi-layered vocals forming a nest of love, loss and intrigue.

Recalling The Raincoats, The Slits' oft-overlooked second album or even the Dunedin set on Flying Nun, Sacred Paws have hit upon something very special indeed.

Wholeheartedly recommended, you can check out '6 Songs' below.

Sacred Paws are set to play the following shows:

25 Edinburgh Sneaky Petes
26 Glasgow Mono (Album launch)
27 Manchester Soup Kitchen
28 London Cafe Oto
29 Brighton Hope and Ruin (w/ Happy Meals & Apostille)
30 Bristol venue tbc
31 Cardiff Undertone

5 Glasgow Counterflows Festival
17 Glasgow Stereo (Ela Orleans album launch)

Buy Clash Magazine

Get Clash on your mobile, for free: iPhone / Android

Follow Clash

Buy Clash Magazine