Listen to it now...
Smilewound artwork

Clash is delighted to bring you the album stream of 'Smilewound', the sixth studio album from Icelandic act múm.

Driven by the band's principle duo of Gunni Örn Tynes and Örvar Þóreyjarson Smárason, ‘Smilewound’ sees múm take glitch-pop to galactic levels. Indeed if space was an environment the Nordic pair sought to capture, they've succeeded with ample supplies of starkness and sparseness.

Enriched by its ability to wander untethered by gravity or expectation, 'Smilewound' is ultimately an uplifting record, even if the lyrical content can, at times, be somewhat grave. From opening track, and lead single, 'Toothwheels' to closer 'Time To Scream And Shout', the album envelops the listener; placing them in a paradoxical realm where all is free flowing and empty yet safe and welcoming.

To help the band soar into the upper atmosphere, múm enlisted the help of American solo artist Beirut, for deep cut 'Candlestick', and pop queen Kylie Minogue, who features on the album’s bonus track 'Whistle' – which was originally recorded for 2012 film 'Jack & Diane'.

Clash reviewer Matthew Bennett praised 'Smilewound' as "delicate, crunchy and beautiful" record that "proudly rambles along the rising mountains of alternative pop."

But enough from us. Have a listen to 'Smilewound' and make up your own mind...

'Smilewound' is set to be released on September 6th - order the album HERE.

8 London Jajaja Nordic Festival, Roundhouse
18 Bristol Fidlers
19 Dublin Button Factory
20 Leeds Belgrave Music Hall
21 Manchester Gorilla
22 Camber Sands ATP - The End Of An Era

Words by Marc Zanotti

Get the best of Clash on your iPhone - download the app here


Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.

Follow Clash: