...ethereal electronic excellence

Treat your ears to some ethereal electronic excellence in this week’s Clash DJ podcast, served up by the awesome Walls, a production duo better placed than most to feed you such essential treats.

Made up of Sam Willis and Alessio Natalizia, Walls excel at weaving vast, mind-hugging tapestries of colourful Krautrock, hazy electronica and ambient disco that anyone with a soul and a desire to dance will find irresistible.

The duo have recently started their own label, Ecstatic, an imprint of the mighty Cologne giant Kompakt (through which the band released their previous material). After several EPs earlier in 2013, Ecstatic will release ‘Umwelt’, a trippy ‘80s electronica-inspired album by Not Waving – AKA Alessio from Walls.

Walls’ Clash mix sees them sinking blissfully into the kind of absorbing electronic whirlpools we’ve come to love them for, but also keeping things bright and punchy via a solid selection of dancefloor shiners. Featured artists include techno baron Ricardo Villalobos, hyper-progressive Dutch producer 2652 via his A Made Up Sound moniker, post-punky shoegazers Spacemen 3 and the tripped-out, tough techno of Chicago’s SvengalisGhost.

Listen to it now... Grab it HERE.

Right click, 'Save As...'


1. Walls - Intro
2. Morton Subotnick - Silver Apples Of The Moon (Excerpt)
3. Diseño Corbusier - Womble
4. SvengalisGhost - Mind Control
5. Vril - V2
6. Louis Guilliaume - Way Out
7. Lowtec - The Rhythm (Remix 2)
8. A Made Up Sound - Sweetback
9. Lucy & Silent Servant - Dormancy Survivors
10. Not Waving - Double Blind
11. Bandshell - Dog Sweater
12. Gwozdz - Reinaufwarts
13. Ricardo Villalobos - I Try To Live (Can I Live)
14. Spacemen 3 - Ecstasy Symphony 
15. Terrestrial Tones - The Sailor

Walls will be playing their new hybrid live/DJ set show at East Not East, hosted by Clash, at The Shacklewell Arms in London on Friday 10 May, where you can also catch live sets from Not Waving (Alessio from Walls’ side project) and Sega Bodega.

Not Waving’s album, ‘Umwelt’ is out on May 6 on Ecstatic, and a Walls single will be released in summer.

Words by Tristan Parker
Photo Credit: Robert Bellamy




Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.