A pumped-up groove-house flex
ClashMusic DJ Mix Podcast - Shadow Child

Shadow Child opts for a pumped-up groove-house flex in this week’s Clash DJ podcast, taking in a succession of booty-driven beats and sharp bass-house cuts.

With a succession of solid club-house releases to his name under the Dave Spoon moniker, you might ask why UK producer and BBC Radio 1 regular Simon Neale chose to adopt yet another alias and begin releasing as Shadow Child. Judging by his output so far, it seems he was craving a darker, bassier edge to his compositions, and he’s certainly nailed it under Shadow Child – first picked up by Claude VonStroke’s soothsaying Dirtybird label in 2012 for his ‘String Thing’ track.  

Featured in Shadow Child’s Clash mix are tracks from globetrotting house super-group Hot Natured, Belgian ghetto-houser Kill Frenzy, Hannah Wants & Chris Lorenzo’s crawling, bassy beast ‘Dappy’ and Midland’s unstoppable ‘Trace’ to round things off in style.

Shadow Child plays Mixmag Live with Groove Armada and Severino on Saturday 20 April at Village Underground, London. His track ‘The Only One’ appears on the latest Dirtybird compilation, ‘Dirtybird Players’.

(right click 'Save as...)

Shadow Child tracklist

1. Hot Natured - Reverse Skydiving (Shadow Child Remix) [FFRR]
2. Kill Frenzy - Errrybody (Shadow Child and Tom Flynn remix) [Food Music]
3. Motez - Take Off [Food Music]
4. Squarehead - Close [CDR]
5. Hot Natured - Assimilation (Tong & Spoon VIP) [FFRR]
6. Pedro Mercado & Karada - Behind the Sun (Shadow Child remix) [Gold Records]
7. Makes No Sense - Sling [Food Music]
8. Hannah Wants & Chris Lorenzo - Dappy [Food Music]
9. Midland – Trace [Aus Music]

Check out the previous episodes of our DJ Mix Series on iTunes HERE


Follow Clash: