ClashMusic DJ Mix Podcast – Seb Rochford

A heady juxtaposition of hip hop and shoegaze

Wild-haired rhythmical genius Seb Rochford, of jazz futurists Polar Bear, provides a heady juxtaposition of hip hop and shoegaze for the latest Clash DJ podcast.

Polar Bear have been a continually experimental and innovative force in contemporary jazz, blending a punky ethos, electronica and rock riffing with traditional jazz ideas, frequently held together by Rochford’s incredible rhythms and dexterity.

Starting off with some spacey ambience courtesy of fellow Polar Bear bandmate Leafcutter John, Youngs Teflon and Angel Gaze then verbally smack you around a bit before melting into the hazy tones of The Invisible. And so the cycle continues, with a blend of blissed-out instrumentals peppered with processed beats, Mozart and a dash of world music experimentation, before the relaxed rhyming of 2morrows Victory and Micachu’s ever-charming weirdness bring things to a close.

Seb Rochford's next release, as part of the Days and Nights at the Takeaway series (a monthly digital singles club curated by Seb), will be a collaboration with Spoek Mathambo and Jaelee Small, remixed by Butchy Fuego. The track will be released on 30th November.

(right click 'Save as…)

Seb Rochford tracklist

1. Leafcutter John – Sweepstake
2. Youngs Teflon ft. Grizzi and Scrooge – Incredibles
3. Angel Haze – Werkin Girls
4. The Invisible – Utopia
5. Art Life – Modern Day Hippy
6. Hello Skinny – Knot Life
7. Scrufizzer – Fizzy Intro
8. Gow Row – The Shroud Of Columbus
9. Berliner Philharmoniker – Mozart Requiem
10. Kesarbai Kerkar – Devi Durge
11. Zerfu Demissie – Sek’let
12. Mim Suleiman – Wakati Dawa
13. Icez – Get Ghost Ft. Kush Gang
14. Gunna Dee – Mind Right
15. Black Moon – Powerful Impakt
16. 2morrows Victory – Option 1
17. Micachu And The Shapes – Fall

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE

Photo by Greg Taylor

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.