Blending glitchy electronica and meaty drum breaks
ClashMusic Dj Mix Podcast - Pretty Lights

US electro-hip hop act Pretty Lights – Derek Vincent Smith – handles this week’s DJ mix for Clash, providing something a little different for your deserving ears, and showing why he’s already established a formidable reputation in his home country through a blend of glitchy electronica and meaty drum breaks.

This one’s as exclusive as they come, with bucketloads of unreleased tracks weaved into the mix, including Derek’s remix of Jay-Z’s ‘D.O.A’, several tracks by Pretty Lights former member and close cohort, Michal Menert, and a selection of new and exclusive cuts from Pretty Lights himself, before finishing on a grimy electro remix of a track from hip hop group Half Color.

Named after a phrase on a Pink Floyd concert poster from 1966 (“Come and watch the pretty lights...” read the text, sincerely advertising an “all night rave”), Pretty Lights’ music is full of chopped-up samples (both vintage and fresh) and deliciously big synth riffs layered over a solid-as-you-like hip hop backbone. Fantastic stuff from some very big US talent.




/* Change the link target in the variable link */
/* Change the text in text for the link title */

global $user;
$link = '';
$text = 'Click here to Download the Pretty Lights mix';

if($user->uid != 0){
print l($text, $link);
print l ('You must be a registered user to download this album - Click to login or join', 'user/register');


(On a Mac hold Ctrl +click and select 'Save link as...')

(On a PC right click and select 'Save link as...')

Pretty Lights Dj Mix Tracklisting

1. D.O.A. - Jay-Z (Pretty Lights remix)

2. Fly Away Another Day - Pretty Lights

3. Starfall - Michal Menert

4. Understand Me Now - Pretty Lights

5. Let Em Know It’s Time To Go - Pretty Lights

6. The Coming Age - Michal Menert

7. Blinders - Michal Menert

8. Something’s Wrong - Pretty Lights

9. Textured Heart - Pretty Lights

10. World of Illusion - Pretty Lights

11. It’s Time to Leave - Eliot Lipp (Pretty Lights remix)

12. Feeling Better - Michal Menert

13. At Last I Am Free - Pretty Lights

14. RungOut - Half Color (Pretty Lights remix)

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE or individually on HERE



Follow Clash: