ClashMusic Dj Mix Podcast – Moderat

Part one of BPitch Control takeover

The mighty Moderat – a combination of two of the best things to have come out of Germany since Erdinger (Modeselektor and Apparat) – supply Clash’s exclusive DJ mix this week, in part one of a two-week takeover of the podcast by BPitch Control – Berlin’s beast of an electronica label. Yum.

Beginning with some… unusual canine sounds (best not to ask), Moderat’s mix slides into the lush tones of the deservedly hyped Darkstar track, ‘Aidy’s Girl’s a Computer’ (giving a cogent example of where UK funky should be headed), before unveiling some garagey, grimy goodness from Untold, a few tasty remixes (including a Zomby rework of Martyn’s ‘Hear Me’, and a Joy Orbison remix of Four Tet) and some techno delights from Marcel Dettmann.

Not that either of the two acts in question really need any introduction, but in case you vowed not to listen to any good music last year, Moderat produced one of the most-anticipated electronic highlights of 2009 with their self-titled album (not forgetting the considerable individual triumphs of Modeselektor and Apparat) before taking their immense sound on the road with a series of live shows.

A mix of deep, uncompromising electronica and future dub from two artists on the cutting edge of dance music.

Listen to it now… Grab it HERE.

(On a Mac hold Ctrl +click and select 'Save link as…')

(On a PC right click and select 'Save link as…')

Moderat Dj Mix Tracklisting

01. Moondog – Moodog’s Theme

02. Darkstar – Aidy’s Girl’s a Computer

03. Untold – Revenue

04. Luis Digital – Dancefloor Microphysics

05. Jose James – Blackmagic / Joy Orbison Rmx

06. Four Tet – Love Cry / Joy Orbison Rmx

07. Vindicatrix – Private Places / Shackleton & Mordant Music version

08. Monolake – Plumbicon / Sleeparchive Remix

09. Emtyset – Awake

10. Anstam – Cree

11. Monolake – Observatory

12. Max Cooper – Automnemonic

13. Ramadanman – Tempest

14. Martin – Hear Me / Zomby Remix

15. Sbtrkt – Sleep In Tokyo

16. A Made Up Sound – Crisis

17. Marcel Dettmann – Role edit

18. Egyptrixx – The Only way up / Cubic Zirconia remix

19. LV & Untold – Beacon / MtKimbie Remix

20. Rhythm & Sound feat. Cornel Campbell – King In My Empire

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE or individually on HERE

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.