ClashMusic Dj Mix Podcast – Juan Atkins

Tears deep through techno’s underbelly

Yep, Juan Atkins steps up. And that’s really all you need to know.

But our babbling, techno-addled excitement wouldn’t allow us to leave it there, especially when Clash has been given the exclusive first play of a new track, ‘Dark Side’, crafted by Atkins and Mark Ernestus (of seminal Berlin techno duo Basic Channel) and remixed by Ricardo Villalobos, making for a formidable trio of techno powerhouses. The new track is a spacey, bubbling number, utilising both Ernestus’ stripped-back minimalism and Atkins’ more mechanical sound.

As for Atkins, volumes has been written about him, but as a summary it’s safe to say he’s an undisputed lynchpin in Detroit’s second wave of techno and has been a general driving force in electronic music for decades, whether through his own future funk-traversing techno innovations or the cosmic, mind-expanding electro of his Model 500 project.

For his Clash mix, Atkins tears deep through techno’s underbelly, journeying through raw basement beats, lasered funk, dubbed-out hypnotics and straight-up, pounding rushes, taking in tracks from contemporary techno warrior Shed (via his WK7 alias) Robert Hood’s Floorplan moniker, classical musician/techno producer Francesco Tristano and the experimental Chicago house/Detroit techno blends of DJ Hyperactive.

Unsurprisingly, it’s an utterly compelling mix – full of energy and character, and a fine indication of why Atkins is still hailed as a modern master.

‘Dark Side’, a new track by Juan Atkins and Mark Ernestus, will be released on Metroplex Records (Metroplex 040) in April. Atkins plays Bloc. Series 1 in London on March 9, with a DJ set and live performance from Model 500.

(right click 'Save as…)

Juan Atkins Tracklist

1. Juan Atkins and Mark Ernestus – Dark Side (Ricardo Villalobos remix)
2. Franklin De Costa – Birdy
3. Floorplan – Living It Up (Original Mix)
4. George Absent & Valano – Bubbles of Life
5. A.Paul – Monadic Spark (Original Mix)
6. WK7 – Do It Yourself (Original Mix)
7. A. Trebor – No Man’s Land (Raffaele Attanasio’s Dub Remix)
8. Sam Ball – Handsome (Original Mix)
9. Paulice – South American Circus (Agaric’s Backwards Man Remix)
10. Francesco Tristano – Hello (Remix By Tom Taylor)
11. RFS – Summx
12. Pig & Dan – Mooshi
13. Random Audio – The Ensemble
14. Dodi Palese – Switch
15. Maan – L1 (ROD Remix)
16. Patrick Zigon – The End My Friend
17. Kölsch – Opa (Original Mix)
18. DJ Hyperactive – Wide Open (Len Faki DJ Edit)

Check out the previous episodes of our Dj Mix Series on iTunes HERE

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.