Clash DJ Mix – Moderat

It's a beauty...

The mighty Moderat step up for one more Clash DJ Mix. And it’s a beauty.

Having established themselves as two of Berlin’s premier electronic acts over the years, the idea of Modeselektor and Apparat joining forces as Moderat always seemed like a very natural and very appealing one. The trio’s self-titled debut album in 2009 combined Modeselektor’s chunky tech-hop rhythms and Apparat’s swirling, visceral electronica, arriving at a deep and atmospheric sound that was further progressed on latest album ‘II’.

Kicking off with Brawther’s heady house stomp in ‘Don’t Go’, Moderat’s Clash mix wastes no time in locking in to a low-slung groove, taking in dark and techy territory, classic house and techno nods, glitchy dancefloor cuts and Moderat’s own shimmering ‘Bad Kingdom’, the first single from ‘II’.

Featured artists include booty-tech producer French Fries, two favourites from Modeselektor’s 50 Weapons’ imprint – Bambounou and Benjamin Damage – Bulgarian wonky techno ace KiNK and rock-solid bass purveyor Midland.

Listen to it now… Grab it HERE.

Right click, 'Save As…'


1. Brawther – Don’t Go
2. French Fries – T.R.A.X.X. (ft. Chaos In The CBD)
3. Bambounou – Pixel
4. Midland – Tape Burn
5. Dark Sky – Ruk
6. Head High – Rave (Dirt Mix)
7. KiNK – Hand Made (ft. Rachel Row)
8. Hyetal – Northwest Passage
9. Marc Romboy & KiNK – Over And Out
10. Benjamin Damage – 010x (SCNTS Remix)
11. Moderat – Bad Kingdom

‘II’, is out now on Monkeytown and can be purchased at

Monkeytown Records
Rough Trade   

Words by Tristan Parker

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.