A soulful, soothing trip of jazz, hip hop, funk and dub...

A lot of artists ask you to kick back when you’re listening to their mix, but few have as big a claim to do so as prolific beat-maker Dobie, whose selection for Clash unashamedly snubs the dancefloor, instead easing us into a soulful, soothing trip of jazz, hip hop, funk and dub that revels in relaxation.

Workaholic is probably a fair way of describing the multi-talented Dobie. He worked on the first two Soul II Soul albums, has recorded two solo LPs that mix experimental hip hop and forward-thinking electronica (including an album on Ninja Tune imprint Big Dada) – alongside numerous singles and EPs – and racked up an enviable list of remix credits, for artists including Björk, Massive Attack, Tricky and Gang Starr. Oh, and he’s also a respected skate photographer.

He’s also got a hard drive bulging with all manner of tunes, including those he’s included in his Clash mix. It’s a lush, laid-back offering, featuring a beautiful, jazzy cover of Goldie’s ‘Inner City Life’, a Janet Jackson rework by glitchy R&B producer Kaytranada, and tracks from the Matthew Herbert Big Band, Actress and the proggy reggae-pop of The Police. Don’t think too hard about it – as you’ll see below, that isn’t what this mix is about. Just, well, kick back and enjoy. Here’s Dobie:

“What’s this mix about? Well, it’s just some tunes really. Didn’t really want to do a mix which was full of just hardcore club/dancefloor bangers. I just didn’t really fancy that, so I said to myself ‘Dobie, it’s time to do ‘Tales From a Hard Drive pt. 2’, which is just a selection tracks/music that I like and what’s on my hard drive, which isn’t all club/dance music. Didn’t really care for the latest and greatest hottest promo on the streets for this selection.

“It’s just some music I like. No big, super-tight mixing and DJ tricks. Just a selection of tracks back-to-back, end-to-end to chill out to, take a break from all that nosebleed hardcore dance. So get yourself a glass of chateau or whatever you like – a glass of red, a cold beer or a nice cup of Rosie Lee (tea) if that’s your thing. Roll a fat one and kick back. Enjoy. Dobie.

“P.S. ‘Tales from a Hard Drive pt. 1’ is still up online. Look out for it if you like this one (it’s a jazz thing).”

Listen to it now... Grab it HERE.
Right click, 'Save As...'

1. Message in a Bottle - The Police
2. Inner City Life - Re:Jazz
3. Everything’s Changed - Matthew Herbert Big Band featuring Jamie Lidell
4. I Know - Fiona Apple
5. Trust - Me’shell Ndegéocello
6. Dubplate - Ben Dolo
7. If - Janet Jackson (Kaytranada Remix)
8. Birdcage - Actress
9. Dubplate - Eclectic
10. Not Yet Not Yet - Crowd Pleaser
11. Something In My Life - Phil Asher
12. I’ll Be Your Everything - Dobie and Holly Palmer (Old Demo)

Words: Tristan Parker

- - -

Dobie and Ninety 9’s ‘Cloud 98 ¾’ will be re-released on April 28th by Nero Records UK, complete with remixes for the 2014 release from Bodhi, Hics, Black Classical and Dobie himself. 

Buy Clash magazine
Clash on the App Store


Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.