Ahead of the release of his 'Upside Down' EP

London-based Italian Alessio Natalizia, a.k.a. Banjo Or Freakout, releases his new ‘Upside Down EP’ on 12” and digital download on Monday May 11.

Previously described as a crafter of “underwater daydreams”, and “enigmatic and atmospheric”, Natalizia’s music is indeed escapist fare, pitched into some magical middle ground between Atlas Sound and El Guincho. The ‘Upside Down EP’, coming your way via Half Machine Records, will only further the man’s already impressive reputation.

And fans are sure to notice the different working in a studio has made to the Banjo Or Freakout sound, with Natalizia’s woozy passages firmed up and fleshed out like never before. Suffice to say it’s the very definition of artistic progression.

To mark the EP’s release, Natalizia has made a special mix exclusively for ClashMusic.com, featuring a host of his own favourite artists. Download the hour-long mix below…


The tracklisting for the EP runs as follows…

1. ‘Upside Down’
2. ‘The Week Before’
3. ‘Like You’
4. ‘I And Always’
5. ‘This City Is A Fake’

And the tracklisting for the mixtape, that looks a lot like this…

1. The Beach Boys, ‘You're Welcome’
2. Minor Threat, ‘Stumped’
3. KG, ‘Love Is’
4. Thai Orchestra (title unknown)
5. Mekanik Kommando, ‘Birds’
6. Pocahaunted, ‘Hideous’
7. Madvillain, ‘Light Of The Past’
8. This Heat, ‘Shrink Wrap’
9. Ricardo Villalobos, ‘Minimoonstar’ (Shackleton Remix)
10 A Mountain Of One, ‘Green’
11 Prince Francis, ‘Rock Fort Shock’
12 S.P.B., ‘All Your Life With Me’
13 Black Anger Movement, ‘Ra-N – Untut’
14 Group Inerane, ‘Awal September’
15 Black Merda, ‘Reality’
16 Kode 9, ‘Swarm’
17 Bridget St. John, ‘It Seems Very Strange’
18 The Misfits, ‘Braineaters’

Find Banjo Or Freakout on MySpace HERE.

Photo: Ben Queenborough


Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.

Follow Clash: