Yo La Tengo

Yo La Tengo

Experimental trio have all you'll need

Yo La Tengo
Ira Kaplan, Georgia Hubley and James McNew, otherwise known as Matador’s darlings of the alternative Yo La Tengo, occupy a unique place in rock history. Few bands in memory dare to experiment quite so widely with such casual audacity. From screeching art-rock and jangling pop songs to electronic soundscapes and hushed lullabies, their output has explored the range of musical history without ever sounding less than modern, in a career that has spanned some twenty-five years and over sixteen albums. Put simply, if you’re looking for your new favourite band, dig into this back catalogue and you’ll find everything you need. The story of Yo La Tengo began in 1984, when guitarist/keyboard player Kaplan and drummer Hubley started the band as a means to express their infatuation with music of all kinds. After a revolving door of bass players, the husband and wife duo recruited McNew full time in 1992, and continued to release material on a variety of small indie labels, before finally finding a home at Matador with the seminal ‘Painful’. Their latest album, ‘Popular Songs’, was released in September, and once again sees them explore new sonic landscapes, while still sounding quintessentially like themselves, a blue print that has served them well for the past quarter of a century.


Georgia Hubley , Ira Kaplan , James McNew


Join us on VERO

Join the Clash mailing list for up to the minute music, fashion and film news.

Follow Clash: