'Mosquito' due on April 15th

Yeah Yeah Yeahs are set to release new album 'Mosquito' on April 15th.

Often branded as part of the post-punk revival, the truth is that Yeah Yeah Yeahs have always been a bit too complex, a bit too weird to fit any one pigeon hole. Returning with their new album 'Mosquito' it looks as if the band are ready to unveil their most diverse, unexpected document yet.

Due for release on April 15th, the album was produced by Dave Sitek and Nick Launay (working separately), while James Murphy steered one track. Dr. Octagon (Kool Keith) makes a guest appearance, while Karen O has labelled the resulting material "trippy".

“We took a more playful, LO-FI approach to songwriting... Much of the music was demoed in our little basement studio in Manhattan with drum machines, a shitty sample keyboard and tons of delay - which we called the soup" she explained. “I think this record has more moodier and tripped-out songs than you've ever heard from us... You might catch some roots reggae and minimalist psychedelia influences in there.”

Finishing, Karen O said: “We would love for this music to make our fans feeeeel something, for it to stir some shit up inside of them, whatever that may be. SO much feeling went into this record, it was the rope ladder thrown down into the ditch for us to climb up and dust ourselves off. I hope others can climb up it too; we’re excited to share the good vibes.”

Pre-order 'Mosquito' HERE.

Check out a trailer for 'Mosquito' below.

- - -

'Mosquito' is set to be released on April 15th.


Follow Clash: