Introducing... Sweet Valley

Wavves frontman Nathan Williams is set to release a new mixtape under the name Sweet Valley.

It's been a while since last we heard from Nathan Williams. Wavves managed to pull themselves together for a pretty satisfying second album, prompting another bout of touring.

However Nathan Williams' mind has been elsewhere. The singer has been working on new material with his brother, using the name Sweet Valley - very 90s, guys! - as a hinge for their creativity.

Posting new cut 'Total Carnage' to SoundCloud, the duo also supplied the following blurb:

"Sweet Valley is Nathan Williams (frontman of critically beloved, fan favorite fuzz punks Wavves) and his brother Kynan. Stay Calm is their debut release (out 8/7 on Fool's Gold), an instrumental beat tape that doubles as an awesomely lysergic postcard from the outer reaches of pop USA. Whether screwing American Bandstand breaks on "Total Carnage" or whipping out g-funk synthesizers on "Dunk Dreams 95," the brothers Williams have managed to craft the perfect black hole summer soundtrack. Grab the sunscreen, nod your head, and mind the sharks..."

Here's 'Total Carnage'.

- - -

'Stay Calm' will be released on August 7th. Here's the tracklisting:

1 Valley Viking
2 Total Carnage
3 Suzuka 9 Hours
4 Malibu Games
5 Dunk Dreams 95
6 Stay Calm
7 Sidewalk Surfer
8 Eight
9 Final Zone

Follow Clash: