The Stone Roses / Shane Meadows Team Up?

Documentary could be in the works...
stone roses reg mackay.jpg
Award winning director Shane Meadows could be in line to film a documentary about The Stone Roses re-union.

Announcing their return with a packed press conference, The Stone Roses seemed totally at ease. Teasing some journalists - notably fellow Mancunian and some time Clash scribe John Robb - the band were accompanied by Shane Meadows.

The award winning film maker milled about and seemed to be recording footage of the event. Sparking discussion about his role in the re-union, Shane Meadows has yet to comment on the rumours.

Now reports are emerging that the director is working on a documentary about the re-union. The Sun claims that Shane Meadows will piece together a film about the band, culminating in their epic three night stand at Heaton Park.

Selling out within two hours, the record breaking comeback shows are set to take place next summer. The band were overwhelmed by the reaction of fans, with Heaton Park tickets no going for enormous sums on auction sites.

Commenting recently, guitarist John Squire joked: "I just hope this erection has subsided a bit by next June."

Meanwhile, a fan site has published a report claiming that the full list of comeback dates have leaked online. The Stone Roses have yet to confirm any further shows, although dates in Scotland and Northern Ireland are heavily rumoured.

The leaked dates are as follows:

Fri 29 June Heaton Park, Manchester
Sat 30 June Heaton Park, Manchester
Sun 1 July Heaton Park, Manchester
Thu 5 July Echo Arena, Liverpool
Sat 7 July O2 Arena, London
Sun 8 July O2 Arena, London
Wed 11 July SECC, Glasgow
Fri 13 July Slane Castle, Ireland
Sat 14 July Botanic Gardens, Belfast
Mon 16 July iTunes Festival, London
Fri 20 July Espacio Movistar, Barcelona, Spain
Sat 21 July Palacio de Deportes, Madrid, Spain
Mon 23 July Palais Omnisports de Paris-Bercy, Paris, France
Wed 25 July Futurshow Station, Bologna, Italy
Thur 26 July Datch Forum, Milan, Italy
Sat 28 July O2 World, Berlin, Germany
Sun 29 July Color Line Arena, Hamburg, Germany
Tue 2 Aug Globe Arena, Stockholm, Sweden
Wed 3 Aug Spektrum, Oslo, Norway

Here's the link to the original page.

Photo Credit: Reg MacKay

Have your say

Sign in or Register to leave comments
-