'Secret Soundz Vol. 2' due on January 21st
The Pictish Trail

The Pictish Trail is set to release his new album 'Secret Soundz Vol. 2' on January 21st.

One of the central facets of the Fence collective, The Pictish Trail has left fans waiting for a new studio album. 'Secret Soundz Vol. 1' was released back in 2008 but since then the Scottish songwriter has shied away from the album format.

All that is set to change, though, with the release of 'Secret Soundz Vol. 2' on January 21st. As ever, the material is set to be largely autobiographical reflecting the changes in the songwriter's own life - so expect tales of moving to a remote Scottish island, career insecurities, dangerous drinking and losing his mother to cancer in 2011.

However it's not all gloom. The Pictish Trail has - in life and on record - a rich sense of humour, and this seemingly comes through on the new album. We'll wait and see, with Fence making a double-gatefold 12” vinyl + 2CD limited-edition version packaged with 'Secret Soundz Vol. 1' - just in time for Christmas.

Here's the tracklisting.

Side A:
1. Secret Sound #6
2. Sequels
3. Of Course You Exist
4. The Handstand Crowd
5. Wait Until Side

Side B:
1. I've Been Set Upon
2. Michael Rocket
3. Secret Sound #7
4. I Will Our It Down
5. Long in the Tooth

The Pictish Trail has confirmed the following shows:

24 Glasgow Celtic Connections @ The Art Club
25 Kirkcaldy Adam Smith Theatre
26 Aberdeen The Tunnels

1 Newcastle Cluny
2 Sheffield The Harley
3 St Andrews Student Union
8 Reading South Street Arts Centre
9 Winchester The Railway
10 Bristol Start the Bus
15 Preston Continental
16 London Dalston Victoria 
17 London The Roundhouse (Hub) - w/ eagleowl, Rozi Plain, Seamus Fogarty, Delifinger 
21 Edinburgh The Caves

Click here to buy tickets for The Pictish Trail!


Follow Clash: