'2012' due on January 30th

Ringo Starr is set to release his new studio album '2012' on January 30th.

It's now been fifty years since Ringo Starr joined The Beatles. Hooking up with the Liverpool beat combo in 1962, his easy going charm supplied the final piece in the puzzle for the soon to be world conquering group.

To celebrate, the drummer has completed a new album. '2012' appears to find Ringo Starr in reflective mood, with the nine tracks containing numerous collaborations and cover versions.

Opening with 'Anthem' - co-written with Glen Ballard - the album mixes new material with a carefully selected batch of covers. Buddy Holly's 'Think It Over' gets re-worked while a new version of 'Rock Island Line' has also been recorded.

The tracklisting contains a song name 'In Liverpool' - seemingly written in honour of the drummer's hometown. A Dave Stewart co-write, all will be revealed when '2012' hits music shops in a week's time (January 30th).

Speaking to Uncut last year, Ringo Starr said: "I am actually making a record about Liverpool. It's about me and Liverpool. It's like I've decided to do mini-autobiographies, instead of writing a book, I'm doing it on record".

"Right now, I'd rather put it quickly in a song, snippets of part of my life. Everybody talks about the Cavern Club, but in this new track, I actually mention the Iron Door, which was a much better club, it was more of a real rock club."

Produced by Ringo Starr, '2012' contains contributions from Joe Walsh, Benmont Tench, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, Dave Stewart, Don Was, Van Dyke Parks and Edgar Winter.

Check out vintage Ringo Starr solo cut 'It Don't Come Easy' below and find the tracklisting after the jump.

- - -

Ringo Starr is set to release '2012' on January 30th. Tracklisting:

1. Anthem (Richard Starkey / Glen Ballard)
2. Wings (Richard Starkey / Vince Poncia)
3. Think It Over (Buddy Holly / Norman Petty)
4. Samba (Richard Starkey / Van Dyke Parks)
5. Rock Island Line (Arrangement by Richard Starkey)
6. Step Lightly (Richard Starkey)
7. Wonderful (Richard Starkey / Gary Nicholson)
8. In Liverpool (Richard Starkey / Dave Stewart)
9. Slow Down (Richard Starkey / Joe Walsh)

Follow Clash: